Balsamiq Breakdown - Long List of Feedback from a UX Designer

Hi Balsamiq devs/staff,

I am a UX Designer that has been spending the last 5-6 months working in both the desktop version of Mockups and the web-based MyBalsamiq on a daily basis. Let me start out by saying that I really enjoy using your software and it has greatly increased my productivity. However, across my time working with the tool I started to take notes when I ran into issues using Balsamiq. Your company seems very proactive and I wanted to share my thoughts that could serve to improve Balsamiq, and possibly figure out solutions to some of my complaints. It is likely that some of my complaints are based around my ignorance about the software, so please let me know if that is the case.

I’m on Firefox 52.0.2. - Balsamiq Mockups 3.5.7 - Adobe Air Player: WIN 25,0,0,127

Usability Issues

• Insufficient feedback (visual, audio) when clicking buttons such as: group, ungroup, send to back, send to front, or essentially any button in the interface. Hover events would also be very useful for all buttons. I think this is probably the biggest oversight in the entire application.
  • Moving files from desktop Mockups to MyBalsamiq is unnecessarily complicated. I want the ability to move single mockups easily to MyBalsamiq. It would also be great to be able to import multiple BMMLs into MyBalsamiq without having to import them as a project.
    — I lose any symbols that were added from a symbol library when going from Desktop to the web. I had to re-add buttons for 9 different mockups when I found this out the first time. This mean using symbol libraries across both desktop and web is not tenable.
    — Same thing goes for images, which essentially means I will always be manually making adjustments to any mockups imported into MyBalsamiq that include symbols or images.