Beginner needing advice on prototyping with balsamic

Hi, I am assuming with the open University, for my final year project I am designing an application to deliver video tutorials to guitarists. The project deliverable will be a design specification and I will be following the interaction design life-cycle model from Beyond human computer interaction design by PREECE et al. I will be gathering requirements I’m producing soft prototypes and high Fidelity prototypes preferably interactive. I have no experience of balsamic, do you think I will be able to produce interactive prototypes using balsamic?

Regards John

Hi John! That sounds like an exciting project. :smile:

I think our tool will be a great fit for your needs. We are focused on low-fidelity wireframes. This tutorial is all about specifying interaction within Balsamiq: http://support.balsamiq.com/customer/portal/articles/107999-specifying-interaction-with-mockups. Good luck with your project!!

Hi
there was a typo in my original message, it should have read student.

is it possible to attach graphics to these posts, so I can show the type of design that I want to replicate?

Regards John

Hi John,

You can just drag an image file onto the text box. It will include the image.

There is also a little black bar with an arrow pointing to the top. When you click it you get a dialog to upload a file or image.

I’m using this for a heuristic evaluation, so my design will look something like this but with extra functionality based on my usability and user experience goals. I was hoping to create a new high fidelity menu option, is this not achievable with balsamic?

Hey @John_Charnock, this is not what Balsamiq is designed for. As I mentioned earlier, our focus is on low fidelity wireframes. If you are wanting to build out the visual design, our tool is not the right one for you. You might check out Sketch, Adobe Illustrator, or even something Axure or Omnigraffle.