Balsamiq Community Discussion

Can you create a MASTER dynamically updated control?

Hello, I am new to Balsamiq and loving it already!

I would like to know if I can create a control - in my case a V-tab or a Tab bar - that will update in all my wireframes if I add a tab or edit the text in a tab list on a Master control.

This would save me tons of time having to unlock and update each control on each wireframe individually.

I don’t have the hang of all the correct terminology yet so I did not find any reference to this in the forum.

Thanks in advance!
Sandra

Hi @SandraC and welcome to the forums!

In short, yes! We have a feature called Symbols which allows you to create reusable common elements that you can use across different wireframes. A Symbols is typically a group of controls that represents a single piece of functionality (e.g. a ‘Social Sharing’ group or, say, a page header or footer).

Once you have created your Symbol, it can easily be accessed via the UI Library - just like the built-in controls.

The thing you’ll love about Symbols is that, if you make a change to the source Symbol (the ‘master’ Symbol if you will) that change is applied to any wireframe using the Symbol automatically.

Why not take a look at the help doc for the feature - Symbols - and get back to us with any questions?

Amazing! Such a time saver. I will check that out now :slight_smile:

Thank you :smile:

1 Like

Hello again,

So I set up a master symbol for my tabs and editing the text in the master updates all my wireframes :slight_smile:

However, I found that if I need to change the Tab that is active in the Selections dropdown, I lose the connection to the Symbol.

I know that this is a big ask, but is there a way to disconnect the “Active” tab setting from the Master symbol and keep the ability to change the tab texts?

Thanks again :slight_smile:

Excellent!