Cut and Paste groups between Mockups does not maintain position

Balsamiq_Mockups_3.999.244

It use to be that Cut and Paste groups between Mockups maintained position, but in the latest version it does not.

Sorry for the trouble Michael. There are a couple possibilities here. First off, we’ve released the official version, so snag it here: http://balsamiq.com/download.

Secondly, you can also use Paste in Place if it’s not putting it where it was before. Usually it will, unless there is a difference in the viewport, and pasting it where it was before would put it outside the viewport. But Paste in Place will have you covered. Thanks!

Thanks for the hint!

Okie, I’m new to the party but I just notice this issue today and consider it’s a deal breaker for me - I might go back Balsamiq Mockup 2 before this thing got fixed or changed, despite those newly excited features come with version 3.

Since I’ve edit / create UI mockup / workflow using balsamiq mockup almost exclusively, copy/paste some components across different mockups is very common for me (where clone mockup won’t fit my needs).

However, I have to check the position of those newly pasted component (since they may or may not stay at the same position as the source ) after every pasted action been done with version 3, and I am start getting irritated with it. ( Microsoft Visio 2010/2013 already give me enough headache with similar issue, alongside with it’s annoying alignment issue, and that’s one of the reason I tend to use balsamiq / axure these days ).

I suspect the root cause is that right now, cross-mockup copy/paste become so much unpredictable. Yes, sometimes it work (copy to the exact position to new mockup), but sometimes it won’t.