Duplicating a project


#1

Morning,
Lets say I have a very extensive project that looks and acts very much like an actual Web site (buttons all work and grid lines link to other Mockups) and I want to clone the entire project so I can make a simpler, temporary version of it, to satisfy an individual’s request.

Can I do this quickly and efficiently somehow?

I looked through the available options and I’m not too sure if I can, or what would happen utilizing some of the options.

Mike.


#2

Hey Michael :slight_smile:

I think, if I were in your shoes, I would bypass trying to duplicate the project from within Mockups 3 and just duplicate the actual BMPR file. That way I would have a fully separate version of the project, and could modify it without worrying about changing anything in my main project.

The easiest way to do that would be to goto Project > Save As and save it under a new name. You can keep track of what file you are working on by checking the title bar.

Let me know if that works for you, Michael.


#3

Well, well, well, "et tu, brute?’’ lol…

I’ve been told that I over-complicate things and now, you proved that.
I was over-thinking it and you pointed out the simplest, easiest way possible.
:smile:

Thanks again,
Mike.

PS: when I “save as” to a new project, all the symbols, trash items, everything gets copied along with the save, right?


#4

We wont mention that I sat there for 10 minutes thinking of a way you would do it in app…

And yes, everything comes with. Something to keep in mind: After you “Save As”, you will be working on the new project file, not the master file.


#5

Houston,
We have a problem!

Brendan,
I did as you outlined above to create a new project and after fixing the heading symbol and making minor adjustments to some of the Mockups, I got an error message that said:

Saving Error

The file is read only, changes not saved.

Don’t worry, your project data is still available, just save the project to a new file to continue.

Save Project As… Ignore This Message

Now what?


#6

Yikes, that’s always a fun error to get.

Are you saving to a networked drive or folder? It sounds like either someone else is using the file there, or it’s locked by the syncing software.

Try saving the file locally for now.


#7

Ok,
I took the option to Save As to ANOTHER project. I’m already working locally.
Now, can I copy the new version back to the one I was working on or should I consider that one corrupt and just go forward with the new?

Mike.


#8

It shouldn’t be corrupt, Michael (and if it is, I definitely want to figure out what happened.)

Open it up and see if is all there. It may be missing a couple things because of that momentary block, but it shouldn’t be corrupt.

Let me know!