Why must I always see and dismiss the "Overriding Properties" dialog when using symbols

I am somewhat new to Balsamiq3 but I started using a Symbol Library Annotated Wireframe.

Every time I go to change the number in a callout (for example) I get this dialog

My understanding is that I can make the same decision via some other mechanism and by definition, this should be the least common action for use of the symbol, so I don’t understand why I have to dismiss that thing every time.

Hey @Dilapidus,

Sorry for any confusion we have caused you with the symbols dialog.

The reason you see this is that the app is telling you that you are making changes to a copy of a symbol, and those changes will override any changes you make to the main symbol.

It’s confusing, and I’m sorry about that. Let me explain a bit how symbols work and that will hopefully clear things up.

When you use a symbol, you are creating an instance (or copy( of a symbol that lives in your symbol library. You can have as many copies of that symbol as you want. One of the main benefits of symbols is that if you make a change to the symbol in your symbol library (we call it the “symbol source”), those changes will appear on every copy of the symbol in your project.

What you are doing is overriding a copy of that symbol to have changes that are unique to that copy - they won’t appear on any other symbols. That’s why you get the overriding dialog.

The reason you get that little box is that we are telling you that you are inside the symbol making changes. When you are inside a symbol or group, you cannot edit other controls. It’s a UI breadcrumb :slight_smile:

Hopefully, that makes sense. You can read more about Symbols in our documentation, but I’d be happy to answer any further questions you have. Just give us a shout!

Thanks again for taking the time to write in about this. Let me know if there is anything else we can help with.

Thank you.